Sergio Garcia explains a strange episode with the rules officer at Wells Fargo

Garcia tells ESPN’s Michael Collins about the time he said “I can’t wait to get out of this round” to the bases official.

Getty Images

It was only a few months ago when Sergio Garcia was upset with the PGA Tour known to the rules officials And the Not in the courts.

In an interview with Michael Collins from ESPNGarcia looked back at the moment from the first round of the May Wells Fargo Championships, when he went in A swear-filled bustle captured on PGA Tour Live’s microphones.

It was a frustration,” Garcia said. “Mainly because of the way the official behaved towards me. He didn’t want to hear anything I had to say. He didn’t want to hear what I was trying to explain to him.”

LIV . golf suit

11 Surprising Phil Mickelson, LIV Players Sued Against The PGA Tour


Shawn Zack

Garcia was looking for his ball on the 10th hole after hitting a tee shot at Bar 5 on the left, near a stream. He wanted to find his ball on the other side of the table, which was still in the penalty area, but first he had to find a way to cross the table. The question became when would Garcia start with three minutes to find his ball to start?

According to the pit official at the time, it started before he crossed the stream, so when Garcia found his ball, the official alerted him that it actually took four minutes to find it. That’s when things got weird.

After going back and forth between the official and Garcia, the Spaniard said his now famous line, “I can’t wait to leave this tour.”

“I can’t wait to get out of here, my friend,” Garcia said, which we now know of course means he’ll be joining the LIV golf course next month. “Just a few weeks and I won’t have to deal with you anymore.”

Garcia was actually regretting that line when he spoke to Collins.

“It was frustrating, and it showed up,” Garcia said. “Maybe I should have done it [in] If I could but in the midst of this moment I think sometimes you just can’t help it.”

Even crazier, Garcia had a right to be upset. The PGA Tour later clarified that Garcia had received an improper referee. He should have been allowed to play the ball because his time to find the ball only began after he crossed the stream.

“They actually told me, yeah, when I started looking for the ball, I found [it] Within two minutes, Garcia told Collins. “So I even had a minute to spare. I think the frustration was talking about LIV and thinking about going. Then it happened and in that moment you feel like you screwed up a bit.”

In the end, Garcia took a drop, struck with an iron in the fairway for his third, and went up and down from 137 yards for an eventful bonus.

“When I found the ball, I could hit it about 160 yards off the fairway,” Garcia said. “Maybe I could have made a little jumper or an easy equivalent. But now I have to drop 60 yards back, hit 3 irons and push a wedge into the green, so it wasn’t easy to make 5 [par] It was not easy to make 6 [bogey]. “

For what it’s worth, Garcia said, he and the official cleared the air after the tour.

“Thank you, at the end of the tour [the official] He came and apologized.”

Jack Hirsch Editor

Jack Hirsch is an associate editor at GOLF. A native of Pennsylvania, Hirsch graduated in 2020 from Pennsylvania State University, with degrees in broadcast journalism and political science. He was the captain of the high school golf team and is still *trying* to remain competitive among the local amateurs. Prior to joining GOLF, Hirsh spent two years working for a television station in Bend, Oregon, primarily as a multimedia journalist/reporter, but also producing, anchoring and even presenting weather. He can be contacted at