Apple Security Check: How to Lock Your iPhone from Abusive Partners

Give family members the ability to see your site The personal information on your iPhone can be useful under normal circumstances. But if you feel threatened by a partner or other family member it becomes arbitrary or violent, you can take action with a security check.

foot in iOS 16This new feature lets you sign out of iCloud on all of your devices, revoke access you’ve given others, limit messages to just one device, and stop sharing location data. The new mobile operating system is supposed to be released in mid-September, but you can check it out early by downloading a file iOS 16 beta.


Set up a security check

Review the personal safety guide

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

You can set up Security Check under Settings > Privacy and Security > Security Check on your iPhone. Click on learn more Link to read the file Personal Safety User Manual(Opens in a new window)which outline how to protect yourself and your sensitive data if you feel threatened by someone else.

At any time during this process, you can click quick exit The link is at the top right. This will instantly take you back to the home screen, if you don’t want anyone to see what you’re doing.

Start emergency reset

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

Click on Emergency reset , then confirm the action with Face ID, Touch ID, or PIN. This will Stop sharing the site And revoke access to all applications. You’ll also be able to change your Apple ID password, review security settings, and add or remove emergency contacts. Click on Start emergency reset button to continue.

Reset access

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

To revoke information shared with other people and apps, tap Reset people and apps to start the process. Anyone you cut out of sharing will not be notified of your action, but may notice that the information shared is no longer visible to them. To revoke access for everyone and all apps, tap Re-Set. To revoke access only for certain people and apps, tap Managing participation and access.

Remove or add a trusted phone number

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

If you choose Reset Access for Everyone and All Apps, the next screen will display your trusted phone numbers. Click on the minus sign () to remove a number you no longer trust. Faucet Add a trusted phone number to add a number. This number will then receive a text message with a verification code that you must enter on your current phone. Faucet Complete.

Password development

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

You will then be asked to update your Apple ID password. You can click Update later in Settings If you want to skip this step for now. Otherwise, click Password development button. Type and retype the new password, then tap Password development button.

Remove or add emergency contact

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

You can then manage your emergency contacts. Click on the minus sign () next to an existing emergency contact to remove this person, or tap Add an emergency contact To add a different person. Faucet Complete. You will then be told that the security check is complete. Faucet he did.


Manual access management

Managing participation and access

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

Instead of going through the entire security scan, you can choose to manually remove access to specific people and apps. To do this on the Security Check screen, tap Managing participation and access Instead of an emergency reset. You will then be able to review which people, apps, and devices have access to certain information. Faucet Complete.

People and Information Management

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

From the Share with People screen, you can see which contacts have access to your information and which services are shared with your contacts. under People tab, you can select the people with whom you no longer want to share your data. under Information tab, select the type of data you no longer want to share with others.

Click on Post review To make any other changes, then tap Complete. The next screen displays the applications that are able to access certain data. Review the list of applications and select which ones you would like to remove. Click on I To see all the pieces of information that a particular application has access to. You can then select any specific types of data to remove.

Application management

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

Click on Information tab and select any pieces of information or features you no longer want to share with the apps, such as your location, camera, microphone, or media library. Click on I An icon to see all the apps that have access to the selected feature or data and remove any of them from the list. When done, tap Stop accessing the appthen tap Complete.

Recommended by our editors

Remove selected devices

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

The next screen displays any devices that are currently signed in with your Apple ID. Select whichever you want to remove from your account. then press Remove selected devices.

Password development

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

You can then click Password development To change your Apple ID password. Faucet Update later in Settings to skip this step for now. Next, remove any existing emergency contact and add a new contact if you wish. Faucet Complete.

Passcode Update

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

The next screen allows you to update your device passcode. To continue, enter your current passcode and then type a new one. You can also click skips If you do not want to change your passcode.

Reset Face ID

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

If you previously set up an alternate look or a second look on your Face ID-enabled iPhone, then you’ll have the opportunity Reset Face ID And remove this second appearance. To do this, click Reset Face ID And follow the steps to check your face.

See other actions

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

The last screen tells you that the Security Checkup is complete, but it describes settings and other features that you may be sharing or accessing data with other people. Review the suggestions on this screen and take any other action that you feel is guaranteed to protect your location, your privacy, and yourself.

Weekly Apple Brief for the latest news, reviews, tips, and more delivered right to your inbox.”,”first_published_at”:”2021-09-30T21:09:59.000000Z”,”published_at”:”2021-09-30T21:09:59.000000Z”,”last_published_at”:”2021-09-30T21:09:53.000000Z”,”created_at”:null,”updated_at”:”2021-09-30T21:09:59.000000Z”})” x-show=”showEmailSignUp()” class=”rounded bg-gray-lightest text-center md:px-32 md:py-8 p-4 mt-8 container-xs”>

Apple fan?

Subscribe to our site Apple weekly feed Get the latest news, reviews, tips and more delivered straight to your inbox.

This newsletter may contain advertisements, deals or affiliate links. Subscribing to a newsletter indicates your agreement to Terms of use And the privacy policy. You can unsubscribe from newsletters at any time.